My life had been naught but a woeful tale of disappointment and failure.

“Should the opening line be this?” Llwyd thought, his curiosity piqued by the possibilities. “And as for the ensuing sentence… hmm.”

Llwyd, with a flicker in his eyes, grasped the quill firmly, poised to transcribe his thoughts but then tossed it away.

“Let’s give up.”

He had intended to experience the life of a successful writer through writing, however, upon introspection, he was struck by the realization that he had never once committed his thoughts to a personal diary.

It was a waste.

Certainly, he pondered, if he were to if he were to write a story about his past life, it would assuredly achieve resounding success.

But for the time being, he closed his eyes and resolved to quiet his mind, seeking solace in the embrace of a verdant meadow, its grassy expanse offering a makeshift respite.

“Ah,” a gasp escaped his lips as Llwyd reopened his eyes.

The vibrant walls shimmered in the sunlight, casting a spellbinding glow. Determinedly, he stumbled to his feet and picked up the pen nestled amidst the surrounding lake’s embrace. His spirit rekindled, he stood tall once more.

He unfolded and laid open a book enchanted with ‘never-ending pages.’

Though feeling a frustrating pressure, he resolved to endure it.

“After all, I have nothing else to do. Perhaps someone might find intrigue in my story… Let’s start writing.”

And so, with resolute determination, he began to write his diary, filled with memories of his past life.

◆::◇::◆::◇::◆

My life had been naught but a woeful tale of disappointment and failure.

My father’s downfall in business led him to flee, abandoning all responsibility, while my mother, burdened by desolation, drifted aimlessly through life, losing her will to live.

Yet, bound by filial ties, I could not bring myself to burden them further with my presence.

– 『Mom, I got a job. You don’t have to worry anymore. 』

I had no choice but to take a leave of absence and earn living expenses.

They told me to die. I had never made an effort in my life, but when the situation arose, I found myself doing delivery or loading and unloading, anything that brought in money.

However, it felt like clinging to a sinking ship; the situation did not improve, at all.

Three years had passed, yet it remained the same.

I grew more and more exhausted.

At the moment when I wanted to give up on everything…

– 『Are you Lee Ye-ja’s guardian?』

My mother passed away.

– 『Her cause of death was arrhythmia caused by extreme stress.』

It was a severe case of depression.

The doctor said that my mother had accumulated too much in her heart, and that’s how it happened.

I didn’t shed a tear during the three-day funeral. I remained detached, disconnected from reality. I saw her when we laid her to rest, and she looked just the way I remembered. Even then, it was just a lifeless body.

But when I held onto the made-up face and left the funeral parlor, tears suddenly streamed down my face for no reason.

I cried for a long time, feeling embarrassed in front of my relatives.

After the funeral was over, I returned to my small rented room.

Since the funeral, I hadn’t cried. Instead, a devilish thought of ‘Now I can live my life’ emerged from deep within my heart.

I fell into self-loathing and sat hesitantly, but the next day I went to school and submitted my application for readmission.

It was then that a harsh truth unveiled itself.

I lacked the necessary funds for tuition. I looked into student loans, only to find rejection awaiting me.

It was because of my grades. I was a failure. If I had known that I wouldn’t get a loan, I would have worked harder.

I had saved some money in my bank account. I thought I could afford the tuition for one semester.

It was strange.

I had worked part-time jobs for three years. Not just any café job, but I did multiple jobs. I sent over 3 million won to my parents every month.

I thought that if I sent them a lot of money, they would quickly come to their senses and take care of themselves.

Little did I know that they would squander every penny.

Now I didn’t have any tuition fees.

Seeking a lifeline, I turned to the Korea Student Aid Foundation’s website, my eyes fixated on a glaring crimson figure on the main screen: Student loans and living expenses, totaling 31.3 million won.

It was then that reality crashed upon me with unyielding force.

I was in my third year of university.

I am 28 years old.

Even after graduating, I would be 29 years old.

And I would step into the world as a destitute soul, jobless and desolate.

My face reflected on the monitor turned pale.

But even until that moment, I didn’t let go of the fragile hope.

I became an orphan. I had heard on the news that we were a developed country, so I thought there would be welfare or something.

There was some welfare available. However, since I had a father, I wasn’t considered an orphan. He was a father who didn’t even keep in touch. He didn’t even come to my mother’s funeral. The law, as it stood, offered me no sanctuary.

Should I report him as a missing person? Could I sever the ties that bound me to the family registry? Surely there must be a path forward if only I sought it with unwavering determination.

If I look for it… Yes, if I search for it.

Yet, weariness seeped into my bones, eroding my spirit. In truth, even if I were to secure graduation with the government’s meager support, what awaited me? A diploma procured in exchange for 4,000 sleepless nights? A future devoid of promise.

Dreams, no matter how modest, fuel the human spirit. It doesn’t have to be a career dream specifically.

Dreams of a humble abode, dreams of acquiring something of value. By dreaming such small dreams, we find the motivation to live.

But I, I possessed none of these aspirations. I was 40 million won in debt —a sum that may appear trifling to some, but to me, who couldn’t make a living, it was too much.

The time for deep contemplation had come.

Within the depths of my heart, a sinister whisper enticed me to end it all, to kill myself. To relinquish all, to sever the tether of existence.

But I didn’t have the courage to do so.

So, I became a hikikomori.

I spent my days lazing around and whenever I ran out of money, I would rush out to do delivery or loading and unloading work.

I played games and watched anime. Web novels, light novels. I didn’t discriminate against anything that I could enjoy in my room.

It was an escape from reality. I had run away from reality.

And then, one day.

Even on the way to rush out for work, as usual.

I collapsed.

I had a mystical experience.

Although I was clearly unconscious, the doctor said that I had died from overwork.

That was the first time I realized that even playing games could lead to death from overwork.

In truth, it came as no surprise.

I haven’t had a good night’s sleep since my mother died.

It was severe insomnia.

Closing my eyes was too agonizing, so I stayed awake until my eyes closed on their own.

There were times when I didn’t sleep for two days, and other times when it stretched to three days.

That day, I was on my way to work after staying up all night on the 3rd.

I expected my health to deteriorate, but I never thought I would die.

Just when I thought it was over.

Something completely unexpected happened.

A world I had never seen before; I had become someone other than myself.

I couldn’t believe it at first. I wondered if this was real or if I was dreaming.

But that thought lasted only for a moment.

Humans are animals of adaptation, and I grasped the reality; I realized that I had been transmigrated into a web novel.

It was a novel I frequently read, so I could recognize it immediately.

It was a novel that I read and followed up to 1000 chapters before I knew it.

Strangely, I couldn’t remember the title, perhaps because I had read so many similar novels. Still, everything else was vivid.

The character I transmigrated into was Llwyd Christopher Windsor.

The youngest child of the Duke of Windsor.

In the story, he was classified as an irregular and was the number one character acknowledged by the author.

He actually possessed fraudulent abilities.

It was only the first day of transmigration. I was convinced that I could win even if I went against God.

But most importantly, the best thing was…

I had a lot of money.

And I was handsome.

However, God made me so perfect that he made one flaw so obvious that it couldn’t be overlooked.

I was petite.

It was like that character, often referred to as a shota.

…I wonder if I’ll grow soon?

It was the only thing I was looking forward to in this life.

Anyway.

Although I knew the story, I didn’t really care; about who the villain is, who the main characters are, what the heroines are like, all those things.

There was a crisis that happened to the main character, and I had the power to solve it.

“Huh. Handle it yourself,” I thought, uninterested in the affairs of others. After all, I had become a wealthy idler, and why should I trouble myself with such trivialities?

It was much more productive to catch up on the sleep I missed in my past life.

◆::◇::◆::◇::◆

Llwyd rubbed his tired eyes.

After he was done using it, he felt a sense of weariness.

“Maybe I should get some sleep. Writing isn’t working out.”

He gave up neatly and tossed his pen into the lake. The notebook was useless. After all, he had been writing in Korean. No one could read it.

“Hmmmm.”

He used the book he had been diligently writing just moments ago as a pillow and drifted off to sleep.

It was truly a blissful life.

He was 58000% satisfied with his current life.

◆::◇::◆::◇::◆ 

In Windsor, Llwyd basked in immense adoration.

Being the only son amidst two sisters, the first and the second-born being girls, Llwyd garnered special attention.

Because the Windsor family was a meritocracy, there was no discrimination in appointing a male or female successor. However, the current head of the House of Windsor, the Duchess, had a particular fondness for her son.

Even the resolute and renowned Duchess of the North, known for her ironclad rule, showed exceptional tenderness towards Llwyd.

Originally, if such an indolent scum was born in Windsor, it was natural that life would be difficult, but for Llwyd, it was different.

Of course, part of it was due to Llwyd being an extraordinary prodigy. Effort was the action taken to acquire ability, and if one already possessed such ability, there was no point in forcing one to make an effort.

However, in that case, the thoughts of the second daughter of Windsor, Amelia Windsor, differed slightly.

“He’s probably still asleep.”

The weather was pleasant. It was undoubtedly certain that he was peacefully dozing off in the tranquility of Delrin Lake.

It was an almost unbelievable sight for a newly admitted freshman of the Academy.

“He is too carefree.”

Amelia had many concerns. Her affection for Lloyd was no different

…Isn’t this going too far, no matter how you look at it?

Her own brother was already lazy to an excessive degree. She couldn’t help but worry that at this rate, he wouldn’t even be able to make a single friend.

Amelia made a resolution to listen to Llwyd’s rotting determination and help him improve.

“Llwyd!”

As expected, he was sleeping by the lake.

“…He doesn’t even have a blanket.”

Amelia approached Llwyd, exhaling a soft sigh. He was a petite boy, his fair skin tickled by soft golden hair. She couldn’t scold her beloved brother and merely stared at him in exasperation

…He’s cute.

The firm intention to scold him… her intention… melted away. Now, she sat down, gently speaking to him, “Llwyd. wake up.”

“……..Hmmm?”

Llwyd blinked as he rubbed his eyes.

“Why are you here, Ame Noona?”

It had been a year since his transmigration into this world. The confusion surrounding various family titles had long been resolved.

“What was Noona saying?”

“Umm…..”

He yawned and said, “You called my name… ?”

“Not that!”

“However.”

Llwyd seemed to be deep in thought, nodding off with a bob of his head. Amelia wore a bewildered expression.

However.

“Well… it doesn’t matter.”

Amelia smiled kindly and stroked Llwyd’s head. “As long as you’re healthy.”

She stood up from her spot and with a satisfied expression, she returned to where she came from, leaving the Delrin Forest behind. 

But then… Amelia stopped in her tracks and looked back.

“……I came back without saying anything again.”

This was her 8th failure.


Previous Chapter x Next Chapter

7 thoughts on “Sloth | Chapter 1 – Indolent Llwyd

  1. Thanks for the chapter, this is an interesting concept! I’ve seen characters like these who are part of fantasy worlds, but never one who is a transmigrator, usually they are hardworking.

    Like

Leave a comment